Blogging

The Other Precepts

So the big question now is the other precepts. I understand that I can make changes more in line with the other precepts, like not eating after 12 noon. Sure they could remain pebbles, as I described earlier, but what parts of the pudding should I keep?

I find myself wondering how much of my decision making is just my ego. That made up version of myself and my identity. I’m a red wine drinker for instance. The bottle is usually open breathing when I arrive at someone’s home. What defines me? Am I someone else if I take water?

It is chilling to realize I might be so attached to the way I’ve defined myself that it alone might be the reason I’m not willing to try changing for a little while and see how I feel in everyday life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

