Blogging

Zootopia

This sloth is the bureaucrat in Zootopia. I’m trying not to take it personally.

I have to start right at the top and say I really enjoyed the movie, Zootopia. The imagination and story telling that went into this production is awe inspiring.

Unfortunately, the one thing that got stuck in my craw was the chosen profession. I tried to explain this to my daughters and was unable to, so I thought I would blog about it and see if I can make my meaning understood.

When the main character announced she was driven to make the world a better place, even if it meant leaving her familiar surroundings and going to the big city, I could identify with that. I left my hometown when I was young as well. It is a common theme that many people experience.

Also, her motivation, to make the world a better place is laudable. But here it is,…Oh, by the way, spoiler alert. If you haven’t seen it, stop reading here. It would only ruin the very beginning of the movie, but still, I will reveal the plot. 

She chooses to become a cop in the big city. Sure, being in law enforcement is a great calling. I have nothing but respect for the Canadian soldiers I have had the opportunity to meet. There is nothing wrong with the profession, that is NOT my point. However,…yes this is the big thing for me… I can’t help but feel that the chosen profession was hand selected, perhaps even paid for.

This movie has the potential to inspire many, many, impressionable youth. Do we want them to believe, from their core that a great calling is to be in law enforcement? My concern stems from the fact that many people I have spoken to feel that it is not only their right, but their responsibility to enforce the “right way to live” on others. The range of people who believe this is broad. Yes, there are laws and law breakers, but why do I have to follow the laws enforced by another country, for instance, or another religion? Romanticizing the notion that it is noble to stand up for the “right side” can be dangerous, if the right side has views that differ from our own.

I’ll just come out and say it. The US military feels it has an obligation to be the police of the world. Other countries don’t necessarily agree. My trips to Europe have convinced me that the US view of their role in the world is not internationally accepted. I can hear the back lash now, but I don’t think it should be everyone’s dream to go out and enforce the laws as they stand, regardless of the country or the circumstances. This movie could have chosen a lot of other professions that make the world a better place and that just gets stuck in my craw.

Standard

Leave a Reply

