Blogging

Toads, Toads, Toads

I’m glad I looked up the totem meaning of Toad. It means inner strength and luck. Which is a good meaning when you are seeing lots and lots of them. I turned the filter on and went out to swim about an hour or less later. The first thing I did was clean the filter in the skimmer and freed several toads of various shapes and sizes.

There are no toads here. This was taken in 2012 right before I went to Spain the first time.

There are no toads here. This was taken in 2012 right before I went to Spain the first time.

Then, I thought the main filter was making a different sound and I went to see if it was OK. There were two toads swirling around in the last filter before the pump. I turned the pump off and freed them. They both still appeared alive, if not terribly dizzy. They were sitting on the cement next to the pump when I left.

“The appearance of a Toad heralds a successful time of drawing upon and using our inner resources.” Well, it certainly feels that way as I channel more and more of myself into my writing and expanding my business.

I love the whole animal totem thing. My favourite story so far is during the week I decided to leave my husband. I set things in motion and I was passing those points of no return.

We were at a cottage, the entire family, and I was out in a canoe. As I paddled between a large land mass and a small island, I could see a large beige dog swimming towards where I would be if I continued to move in the same direction at the same speed.

As I approached it became clear that it was not in fact a dog at all. It was a deer. A deer who had decided to swim from the mainland, over to the island. Like passing that point of no return, she had left the safety of the shore and swam over to a new place. The symbolism is all over that story.

Standard

Leave a Reply

