Blogging

Toad in the Pool

Last summer, Penelope, a lime green frog, spent most of the summer in my pool. After catching her in the net and throwing her over the fence a few times I discovered it was, at best, a temporary solution.

Penelope in my pool.

Penelope in my pool.

Having her brush up against me while I swam was disgusting and it freaked me out a bit so I encouraged her, by causing waves with my hands, to go towards the steps. After doing that a couple of times she would head for the stairs when I was in the pool and sit there until I got out. This worked for both of us.

Penelope has not reappeared this summer. I now have a toad. We went through the same preliminary step. I saw him when I turned the filter on and proceeded to scoop him up with the net and toss him over the fence. When I returned a little while later to go for a swim he was happily enjoying the warm water.

Knowing my lack of success with Penelope, I decided to confront him head on. I stood about three feet away from him in the shallow end. He knew I was there. We looked at each other and I started to speak. He purposefully swam towards me and crawled up on my forearm. He looked me right in the eyes and held my gaze until I lowered my arm into the water and he was forced to swim.

Very strange.

I swam and he sat on the stairs for most of it. Having him sit on my arm made me realize that it was not as disgusting as it had felt when Penelope brushed up against me. He seemed to know that I wouldn’t hurt him. Peculiar experience, I must admit.

Standard

Leave a Reply

