Blogging

Stomach Growling

Lilly started to meow, as though it was a signal that I have begun to write. Maybe, of course, I’m just in her room and she is protesting. She is here now, looking out the front window.

I have been trying to wait until my stomach growls before eating and of course, stopping when I’m full. Not when I feel full, before I can feel anything. When I am no longer hungry.

Current dilemma is that most of my meals take about an hour and since I don’t know if I’ll be ready to eat or not, I put them in anyway. I often eat a full one when I would otherwise have not eaten at all. That can’t be good.

So here I sit feeling the burn of black coffee and cigarettes. Waiting. See, that is the other dilemma. IMG_5958I feel hungry when I’m not actually. I cannot discern the difference. So, I needed a more objective measure and that takes me to the growl. For sure. I’m hungry. The caveat being that at that point I can eat.

It is possible, I’ve found to eat a small amount of something and still have your stomach growl. Interesting. A bird just landed in the tree out front. The sun is behind it and I can’t tell what colour it is . There is quite a wind. It is seriously cold again.

It is not so much that it is cold, it is only April, it is the great fluctuations in temperature that are unsettling. We all expect it to get gradually warmer, not hot, cold, hot, cold…

But I digress, I just thought how unsatisfying my ice water would be right now. Took a sip anyway. It seems to have been too cold. I now have a wee bit of pain in my lower esophagus.

Standard

Leave a Reply

